You Mean That isn’t in the Bible?????

Yes, you know, those questions you’ve either asked or you’ve heard someone ask in conversations?

You Mean That Isn’t in the Bible?10 Popular Beliefs That Simply Aren’t True by David A. Rich

Mr. Rich talks about those questions, those lurking questions someone asks. I know you’ve heard them. My husband and I have led care groups/small groups for a long time and these questions often come up with new believers and believers who vary in their walks of faith. This book is a great resource for some of those questions! It dispels the myths that some of us believe in or “think” are in the Bible.

Some of the popular beliefs he dispels are:

  • There are many roads to heaven
  • God helps those who help themselves
  • Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven (gulp, how often have I said that!!)
  • Pray hard and God will answer
  • God is our co-pilot

And several more! There are a few that I read that I went oh yeah, knew that one — but “Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven” made me think oh oh, what have I been saying all these years? I think the most powerful thing that hit me was this quote:

“At the time Jesus died on the cross, how many of your sins were future sins? the obvious answer is, they were all future sins. Jesus died, and paid the price, for all the sins you may commit in the future. He knew them then. You can’t surprise Him with a sin He didn’t see coming. He’s forgiven sins you don’t know about, sins you would never imagine committing, and ones you aren’t even aware of. Sure, you’ll repent whenever you do commit a sin, but it’s already been forgiven. You repent because sinning is against your identity. You feel bad and guilty because it isn’t who you are. If you’re identity were still “sinner,” you wouldn’t feel bad about it. Remorse is the way you can tell it’s contrary to who you are…..”

I could go on.. it really doesn’t do the book justice just with that post, but it really touched me. Because I think thought that way about me. I’m just a sinner forgiven…

The first time I looked at this title it reminded me of my Indian Studies class in University. One of my professors began to belittle Christianity and tell about how the “white” wedding dress and it’s symbol of purity originated from the Bible. I sat in my class aghast! I politely raised my hand and told him he was wrong. He began to call me some obscene words and challenged me to prove it. Being the girl that I was (and little known to my professor) there was a thing called online referencing. I took the word “white” entered it into my computer (remember this was 1997 when the Internet was just getting popular.. but not totally popular yet.. before crosswalk and bible gateway.. it was an actual program), and printed out the pages with white, as well as every reference I could find that contained it. Seeing my mother was getting married at the same time, I happen to have a lot of wedding information handy. Now, some of you might not know “Miss Manners”, but in my mind she is the expert authority on wedding and manners, and through her I came to the sound knowledge that the white wedding dress came from the Victorian Era and was a sign of power as it was expensive to bleach the fabric, and it was really a show to have a white dress. If your interested the Wikipedia has an interesting post on this and ironically includes Miss Manners info on it! (didn’t know that before I was writing this). Anyhow – before I get too much off into a rabbit hole, I brought back my information to my professor — a rather large stack of paper with the references as well as several other non religious resources and said “Okay. Here is every reference to the word “white” in the Bible. I didn’t see one reference to a bride must be wearing white as a sign of virginity, and the only reference I found to white from my Haley’s Bible hand book it says that “white” in the Bible refers to a bright vivid color, not necessarily the actual color “white”. Than I showed him the other references and asked if he could show me where in the Bible he was referring too, as I was still unclear of where he got his information from (yes, I was the student teachers probably hated lol). Needless to say, I think he rethought he attitude and knowledge of Christianity at that point. He did publicly apologize to me for calling me names and for being “uninformed”. Now, don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t doing that to be mean. It was university, and I did not want someone who was ill informed telling people — my fellow classmates about something he had no knowledge of. Maybe this is a question for Mr. Rich’s next book!

To conclude with my review (sorry for the rabbit hole there lol) I think Mr. Rich does a nice job at laying out the answers for these questions. This book would be a nice resource to keep around for others to read.. in fact I think it may be going with me to care group this week coming up! It was an easy read, easy for referencing as each question is a chapter. Mr Rich puts it nicely at the end of his book by saying “The bottom line to most popular beliefs is that they give too much power and credit to man and not enough to God…”

Amen Mr. Rich. Amen.

Thanks for reading this far!

This is part of my SRT! Check out others by clicking the link above!

8 responses to “You Mean That isn’t in the Bible?????

  1. someone else I know either just read this book, or one VERY similar… We had a huge talk about it. Darn it, with I remembered!

  2. Very interesting post!! Thanks!
    Susan

  3. Great post! Wait a minute… you mean cleanliness is NOT next to Godliness????
    Oh that one has bothered me for years! Ha!

  4. Oh I would love to read that book! Sounds like a really good one.

  5. Excellent post! I would like to get this book for sure.

  6. hmmm…interesting, I’ll have to check it out!

  7. Hmmm…. yet another book to add to my list… thanks for the great review.

    I wonder if your professor got confused with the concept “glory” and the pure, immortal bodies Christians will receive prior to the wedding feast (for Jesus and his Bride the Church) at the end of the present age. Our new bodies will be like “garments washed white in the blood of the Lamb,” and could be confused with a white wedding dress. Just a thought!

    Hey, BTW, I like your A-store! Very cool.

    (((Hugs)))

  8. Great review…I’ll have to read this one. I wrote a post on “God helps those that help themselves” you can read it here http://outofdeepwaters.blogspot.com/2008/02/myth-buster-1-god-only-helps-those-that.html

Leave a Reply

