my favorite cuppa

So, what do you think of the new layout? I was messing around yesterday and came up with it… lol I need to have something other than trees at the 160! lol.. I’ll be working on that this year!

Anyhow, on to my favorite cup!

This is my favorite coffee mug.

It’s old. IT’s been used for a long time

I looked it up online.. it’s vintage.. and an orginal.. (yes, Kelly I know your excited.. hehe)

but that’s not why I keep it.

It is my memory.

My grandfather had a ritual. He would sit down at the kitchen table, with his coffee (lots of cream and sugar) and dip his buttered toast in it for breakfast. I’m not sure why. But I was always mesmerized by it. And thus I started drinking coffee when I was five. I loved to take my toast, buttered and dip it into my coffee. that taste of buttery delight mixed with cream sent my senses into a hayday. My grandfather died when I was in grade One. I don’t remember him saying much (except a few words that I can’t repeat lol), I was so young, that it’s hard to remember many things about him, but I do remember the ritual. And as reminder, I got his coffee cup. I still smile every time I use it. It still looks new, I’m cautious not to let the kids use it b/c of the sentiment, and yet I refuse to just leave it on the shelf b/c I want to remember the good times. I don’t use sugar, but I still love to dip my toast in my coffee; oh the stories I’ll get to tell my children, just how that happened. As my opoe said “what’s the point of having fine things, if they only sit on the shelf… enjoy them”

Do you have an item that you brings back memories from your past?

5 responses to “my favorite cuppa

  1. What a great memory!

    I have my grandmother’s apron that she wore everyday while cooking and baking for us. I want to frame it in a shadow box because it is getting to fragile to wear any longer. Just touching it reminds me of standing beside her as she taught me to cook.

  2. I have the dresser lamps that were on my Aunt’s dressers. I also have my Grandmother’s rocker. Both these items are in the attic for now. I have to sort through my emotions about family ties before I can make them a part of my life today. But I am still thankful that I have them.

    Love the new layout!!! Very soft and inviting…like a pink cashmere sweater ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for your recent comments on my Daily Photo. And guess what….I actually learned how to do background colors this morning!! I wanted to ‘perk up’ the button that Skittle uses for her Heads or Tails meme.

    Better watch out…..collages…background colors…I may catch up with you yet (giggle).

  3. love your new look!! I have my grandmothers teakettle (silver) sitting on my oven. It is to old to work now, but I look at it and it reminds me of all the time I spent in her house, in her kitchen while growing up.

  4. yes, i am excited!! vintage vintage vintage!! And i do like the new layout too ๐Ÿ™‚

    i have a few memory items: an old singer sewing machine that was given to me in grade 8, i was so touched because everyone thought i was responsible enough to have it at the age 0f 11.

    and a shawl and parasol my grandad gave me. once gemma is old enough, they will be on display in her room …

    okay time to have my cuppa… them i am heading to your place!

  5. i LOVE your new layout

Leave a Reply

