Marriage Monday – “Three Things My Daughter Must Know About Her Marital Needs.”

marriagemonday2.jpg

Well, seeing I have a while to wait on this — My girls are only 2 & 4 years old after all, but it’s something important to think about. I’m sure I’ll have more to expound on the subject in a few years.

I can remember when I first got married (13.5 years ago!); somewhat to my recent days of motherhood – there are so many things that people forget to tell you.. or rather don’t tell you that probably should be mentioned before you make the commitment of such significant events in your life. I mean the real truth.. the real issues that happen when we get married.

1. Marriage isn’t a marriage unless God is in it.

Two people can “get married” but it isn’t complete unless your marriage is given over to God and you follow His desires & plans for what marriage is suppose to be. It doesn’t work well any other way. Oh sure, some people have survived it — but they haven’t really lived it, enjoyed it, prospered from it.

Ge 2:24Show Context
For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

2. No is not an option –Marriage is really hard work.

From someone who went down the bad side of marriage and lived.. Marriage is a commitment that is hard. You have to make it a set plan to stick to it. You and your spouse need to decide together that you are willing to work through ANYTHING and EVERYTHING… that whole line about through good and bad, till death do us part; you know that part I’m talking about… take it seriously… some places in the world don’t allow women to change their last names till they are married for over 3 years because divorce rates are so high.

3. I love you & I am sorry are 2 phrases you should say often.

We are not our partners Holy Spirit. I like to think I am, but the truth is, the Holy Spirit will convict our spouses in their own search as he convicts us of our down falls. We don’t need to nag it into them… thus saying I’m sorry and I love you are important words when we screw up. Say them like you mean it. I find most often we treat the people we love the most the worst and save our game face for strangers… how sad when we look down the road and see how horrible we’ve treated each other.

1Pe 1:22Show Context
Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart.

 

I could think of several more, but I need to stop now. (and after re-reading the title.. I think this specifically applies to “MARITAL needs lol”.. physical love combined with real love is a deadly combination.. it’s hard work and is harder to be broken the stronger the ties are!

 

amy1.gif

8 responses to “Marriage Monday – “Three Things My Daughter Must Know About Her Marital Needs.”

  1. Wise words, Amydeanne. Your daughters will benefit from your experience–when the time comes, of course!

    Thanks for participating in Marriage Monday today. Do you want me to add your link to my Mister Linky so others can find you?

    Hugs, e-Mom

  2. Amen and amen! Well said!

  3. All very good points.

  4. Great points to share. You know your children are never to young to learn about marriage. They watch your relationship when you’re not looking. My daughter who is now 24 refuses to settle for anyone that will not treat her or look at her with the love she sees in her father’s eyes for her mother.

  5. Great post! Even after 20 years of marriage – I am not always great and saying “I’m sorry”….what a great reminder!

  6. I began stressing the importance of commitment in marriage when my children were not much older than yours…it’s never too early to begin planting seeds.

    One thing you said here resonates loudly with me–“no is not an option”. I’m a bit skeptical with those who say they never “fight” within their marriage, who make it sound all rosy. We have a GOOD marriage, but we’ve still had to work at it. For us, divorce isn’t even part of our vocabulary, so it’s finding a way to live abundantly within our differences. Apart from a common faith, the Lord drawing us closer together as we draw closer to Him, I don’t see how we could make it….

    We ARE one, though, and I think that’s a beautiful picture of Christ :).

  7. that’s exactly what I”m saying Robin! Divorce once was in my vocabulary, but it isn’t any more. It isn’t an option. We realize how hard it is to stay together and we’re working on that often!

  8. So true. If you want to live “happily ever after” you have to work hard to get there. Good post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

