“It is insufficient to proclaim that the Church of God has a
mission in the world.
Rather, the God of mission has a Church in the world.”

It’s been a while since I’ve done IOW’s. I don’t know if my brain is on overload or not, but this one hit me pretty well… When I used to live in the USA, one church we attended had over the exit doors “YOU ARE NOW ENTERING THE MISSION FIELD”. That little phrase has stuck with me and has broaded my idea of where God’s mission field realy is. When I was growing up, I always wanted to be a missionary.. you know, the kind that travelled the world, helping 3rd world countries; it really seemed glorious in a weird sort of way… but here I am ….. lost in the pit of poopy diapers (lovely sight I know)… and I often think what in the world can I do to make a difference… really it starts at home..

  • my husband; how I treat him directly affects how he does his job at work; how he manages people; how he reacts — whether he starts off his day well, or if he goes to work in a bad mood or hungry even.
  • my children; how I treat them directly affects how they will know the love of Jesus in their own hearts and how they will treat others when they are out and about doing their things (even in preschool, sunday school, or with their cousins)
  • myself; if I don’t take care of my own missional needs (feeding my soul, breathing) I directly affect how I treat my family, friends and others around me. I affect how I function (whether I actually function as a capable person or more like a chicken with my head cut off)

From there the city is mine to affect… when I shop; am I courteous, do I talk down to people or lift them up, do I smile at the grouchy old people or do I frown back? The point I am trying to make is that we are ambassadors of Christ and how can we lead-direct-guide-show anyone Christ’s love if we ourselves are not fully functional in our own homes or as humans?

I struggle deeply with doing this job well, but like I’ve said “I’m a work in progress” I’ve still got stuff hidden in the back room that I so desparately want to throw out, but it’s not quite out the door… an inch closer…

So, as I watch my children stumble, break things, need to be disciplined and as my hubby needs his coffee and lunch, I thank God that I’m able to help his mission today by providing the needs of my family.

I am in chains now for preaching this message as God’s ambassador. But pray that I will keep on speaking boldly for him, as I should. Ephesians 6:20

Leave a Reply

