Living for Tomorrow

I think most of my life, I’ve looked forward… “If I can only make it to high school”… if I can only make it too university.. if I can only make it til we move… if I can only make it the next baby is born… etc.. than I can start living… Infact, I’m currently in that state of mind and want badly to shake it… if only the house gets finished, so I can move us, before the baby comes.. if I can make it the next 18 weeks with this baby than I’ll work on eating healthier… if .. ifffffffffffffff

The problem with this thinking is that depression can set in because making it from point A to point B, doesn’t really mean anything, does it? It’s what you do with the time inbetween.

I’ve been reading John Maxwells “the Difference Maker” and he points out a lot of good things, but one that really hit me was his chapter on fear, and his point on Giving today your attention – not yesterday or tomorrow. “Yesterday and tomorrow seem to clamor for our attention. Yesterday wants us to second-guess past decisions and worry if we did the right thing. But that is wasted energy…… The future also can cause us to miss persent opportunities….. the only place we really have any power is in the present. Do what you can in the here and now –despite your fear– and you will have the satisfaction of knowing that you are doing everything within your power to reach your potential.”

So, what does God’s word say about tomorrow?

Pr 27:1

Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.

Mathew 6:25-34

25 “So I tell you, don’t worry about everyday life – whether you have enough
food, drink, and clothes. Doesn’t life consist of more than food and clothing?
26 Look at the birds. They don’t need to plant or harvest or put food in barns
because your heavenly Father feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him
than they are. 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? Of
course not. 28 “And why worry about your clothes? Look at the lilies and how
they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his
glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so
wonderfully for flowers that are here today and gone tomorrow, won’t he more
surely care for you? You have so little faith! 31 “So don’t worry about having
enough food or drink or clothing. 32 Why be like the pagans who are so deeply
concerned about these things? Your heavenly Father already knows all your needs, 33 and he will give you all you need from day to day if you live for him and
make the Kingdom of God your primary concern. 34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

I think as mothers we concentrate so much and moving forward… if only I get the laundry done, if only I get lunch on the table “ON TIME” .. if only….. but the truth of the matter is our children, our husband need us now.

Lord, help me to stop worrying about what will happen tomorrow and live for today.

Amy

Leave a Reply

