In Other Words

The first thing I thought of was one of the first quotes we did, about stumbling and having someone beside you, but than I began to think a bit more (a dangerous thing, I know! lol). I was reminded of the the “survival of the fittest”.. aka.. The Lion behind you… And the elderly woman in front.. You just have to be faster than the old woman right?
But than I thought again… (rather humorously as you can see by my illustration)

It truly doesn’t matter who is behind you…
Whether it be the devil, or a “monster” in your closet… Or in the case of the gingerbread people, Cookie Monster

If God is with you, how can you go wrong?

The real question is, IS HE REALLY BESIDE YOU? Or is He behind you? Are you running from Him? Or is He so far ahead of you, you’ve got him on a pedestal that you can’t reach?

God wants us to be close to him.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted
and saves those who are crushed in spirit.
let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance
of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and
having our bodies washed with pure water.

He is personal. He wants to know his children.

Oh, for the days when I was in my prime,
when God’s intimate friendship blessed my house,
I think my favorite quote… Actually somewhat of a life changing quote was from last year. I went to a Women’s Journey of Faith conference (www.wjof.com ) and one of the speakers there had the word I needed. At that point in my life, my marriage was in the process of being healed from a long list of past sins. I was so broken, but I really kept living in my own nightmare of hellish replays. And than I heard it.
You are not your mistake.
You have made mistakes,
but you are not a mistake.
~ Audrey Miesner Author of Marriage Undercover
I had always replayed MY mistakes. In my head THEY were me.
I was nothing but a big lump of mistakes and I couldn’t forgive myself.
But the truth is God sees us beyond our mistakes. He made me in love. He knew my sins. He knew the mistakes I would make, but he loved and made me anyhow.

And, at that point I began to grasp Jesus beside me. And with me. I can not explain how much my Christian walk has changed since that point. I don’t know why at that moment it clicked. I read my Bible now, and it’s as if I’ve never opened the book before… I have so far to go, but where I came from there is definite improvement.

I know I have to own up to my mistakes. And some of them were extremely costly. With Jesus beside me, we will get through them. I will not be alone. His grace is sufficient for me.
He never said life would be easy, he just said he would be there with us, if we want him to be.

Okay, I think I stayed somewhat on track, but not sure! Thanks for reading this far, if you lasted!

Leave a Reply

