In Other Words

So, I’m sitting here and I’m thinking how to I respond to the quote for this week.

And so I started to think… well, the first thing that came to my mind was Little Miss E. She makes no distinction between “dressy days, church days, or the everydays.” Everyday is just a day to her. She’s happy and content doing her own thang. Dancing to her own drum. Climbing every steep mountain (or slide for that matter) she can find with great enthusiasm, or enjoying herself so emmensly she falls asleep on her feet.

So is that what God’s word means when it says like a child? (not childish ~ childlike)

Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”

Luke 18:17

Childlike frame of mind, what is that? Living life with great enthusiasm, or enjoying so emmensly? Maybe not in the “whole entirety” but I’m sure it has something to do with it. Since I’ve become a mom the “childlike attitude” has been brought forth more than once in my eyes.

So, why do I treat life as if the ordinary days don’t matter? As if I need to wait for the next “big” day to do my “proper” thing… sort of like my diets… errr lifestyle change (ya, that’s it..).. usually the comment is.. “oooo just one more piece, and we’ll start tomorrow” but the truth is tomorrow NEVER comes.. it’s always today. And yet I slack and procraustinate thinking I still have time to do my “big thang”… okay so now let me think about this spiritually… How do I apply this to my life now that “i’ve got it alllllll figured out”

  • Do I wait before I tell someone about Jesus?
  • Do I let those negative comments slip out of my mouth (I’ll do better tomorrow you know!)?
  • Do I yell at my spouse and children b/c I can’t control my temper? (who moi????)
  • Do I say “I love you” to my spouse, parents, family and other people in my immediate circle who’ve crushed me and make me feel inferior, even if I would really like to hate them???
  • Do I apologize for my mistakes?
  • Do I stop making others feel guilty about things I should have let go along time ago?
  • Do I love my husband like I mean it? (I’m talking romance here ladies!!)
  • Do I treat my children like they are important in my eyes like God wants them to be? And for that matter, have I been trying to lead them to Christ if they aren’t Christians, and if they are, have I been presenting an example they can respect? (Jesus wasn’t always liked by non-believes, but He did have their RESPECT!)

okay, okay, the list goes on… you get the picture… man I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me.

Lord,

Teach me to number my days… to stop procraustinating on what I want to do, and JUST DO IT! Kick me in the butt, but hold me hand. Grow me.

Amen.

~ on a side note ~ I think the best thing I read today was God said he’d give us comfort, but he didn’t say he’d make us comfortable! (From the book Trusting enough to Parent)

Leave a Reply

