Thankful Thursday

My study this week has been on how to see the simple things in my Neighbours.
So, first thing I thought was my physical, actual neighbours. We moved here in Nov. 2002, while I was pregnant with Miss H. I was on bedrest, and Mr. C and his dad were helping move us from 2 different locations.
God really blessed me with a few sweet people. There is a lovely Italian family across the street, who always chats with me, and has given me gifts with the birth of my children. Another one got all the neighbours to sign a card with their address on, if I needed any help. AND my new neighbours. AH! We love them! They have 6 grown children, but they are so nice, and my children are always sticking their head out the window chatting to them. So, yup! I’ve been blessed with some really great neighbours.
Than, I got to think, who is my neighbour? Does it just cover the family next door? What does God say about neighbours? Took me a while because I’m spelling it the Canadian way, and there isn’t a Canadian Bible lol (least not that I know of haha)
I started to think about Veggitales. Larry Boy has an episode called “Who is my neighbour?”
so, I found several verses on what a neighbor is, but the best one (and why I didn’t think of it first, who knows… God’s wake up call I think!)
Here’s what I found:

Luke 10:25-37
“……………27 The man answered, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’ And, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”…………. 29 The man wanted to justify his actions, so he asked Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?” 30 Jesus replied with an illustration: “A Jewish man was traveling on a trip from Jerusalem to Jericho, and he was attacked by bandits. ……………………….. “Now which of these three would you say was a neighbor to the man who was attacked by bandits?” Jesus asked. 37 The man replied, “The one who showed him mercy.” Then Jesus said, “Yes, now go and do the same.”

Ah the good ol’ Samaritan. How many times have you heard/read that parable? How many times have I neglected those words of wisdom? Neighbours are ALL around us. They are our “aquaintances”, that we live in this world with. We don’t have to be “friends” per say, but we do need to help them out. Being a little kinder (maybe holding the door open at the store? Letting someone in line when we’re buying our coffee at lunch?)

I am so thankful that God is a God of 2nd chances, aren’t you? My latest effort to make a difference in the little things, has been to say a kind word to the clerk at the supermarket & try and remember his/her name, and something about them. It does make a difference. You never know what hurts and struggles they have – they may not be physical like the in parable, but than our neighbours God talks about, aren’t just are physical nieghbours either, are they?

Thank you Jesus for my neighbours, both the ones next door, and the ones I have yet to meet.

i’ll be having a new digi kit up tomorrow (Hopefully! So check back!)

xoxo
Amy

Leave a Reply

