Monday’s musings

Saw my step dad today. He is yellow yellow yellow…. it’s not looking good. Reality is not sinking in. DH went there yesterday and read the bible to him, and talked with him, which was a good thing. The kids and I went today. They were as good as can be, but they don’t understand why grandpa’s sick. I’m not exactly sure how to explain to a 3, 2 & 1 yr old that their grandpa is dying of cancer. This is going to be one hard year ahead of our family.

I know many people are posting about 9/11 today. Even though I am Canadian, I was there close during that time, and still remember it far to vividly than I’d like. I’m praying for the families, especially the people who lived through it and can’t get rid of the nightmares. May God’s peace cover your family and protect you.

I’m almost done reading a book called The Covering, by: Hank Hanegraaff It has been extremely interesting to read. the description says: In a world where evil seems to lurk around every corner and our thoughts turn to worry about our safety and security, the armor of God is our Father’s protection in the fight against evils of our temporary home. Best-selling author Hank Hanegraaff describes God’s protective covering over his children by dissecting Paul’s words in Ephesians 6:10-18 commanding us to put on the armor of God and “take our stand against the devil’s schemes.” He moves through the passage, phrase by phrase, defining God’s armor, explaining what it means to embrace God’s covering, and the practical ways God delivers us from evil.

Which is kind of funny since our pastor is starting a series on Ephesians this week. Anyone else read this book? Always curious as to what other people think about this. I’m almost done it.

My mom brought a box of tomatoes, and I put them in my room since most of them weren’t ripe yet… the kiddies decided they’d have the great tomatoe war of 2006 in my room on Friday. Last night our irish setter puked and pooed all over the house.. so much for my carpet cleaning 2 weeks ago! Ever have one of those weeks? That was mine! Praise the Lord I have 2 hands for cleaning right??!!! Praise the Lord, I have 3 children who can laugh and play together, right??

Thank-you Lord for being in our family. For giving us a wonderful place to live, and kind neighbours and great friends. Thanks for providing for us all we need. Your grace is sufficient for me (even if I don’t want to admit it sometimes.)
Amen.

Gotta go start some supper for the clan!
xoxo
Amy

Leave a Reply

