smart mouth?

I’m a verbal vomiter sometimes… you know.. I hold it all in and than all of a sudden I can’t control it… I release and say things I don’t mean, or I’ve totally messed up what I was saying by running off on a rabbit trail with words that I really didn’t mean… filling in the space b/c I felt I had to…

So…

this book appeals to me..

How to get a Smart Mouth – The power of using your words wisely by Robin Chaddock.

I so need the help! So why do I like this book? (hehe, noticing my over use of the word “so” already ) Other than my verbal vomiting problem (yes, you can laugh) is Robin’s straight forward help. She provides godly counsel to those of us who have read a gazillion self-help books but can’t seem to grasp that help we so badly need. She takes the issues we KNOW we need to deal with, but she does it with encouragement and most importantly JESUS!

This book can help with evaluating your own speech, encouraging others, communicating more clearly and effectively, developing stronger relationships, and even in the way we share Christ.

I like the way the book kicks off.. for example here’s a savory taste of what Robin writes:

“Apparently Jesus thought telling the truth was important. He starts speaking with the phrase, “I tell you the truth” at least 26 times in the gospel of John alone!

Honesty comes right after Wisdom in establishing the foundation for what it means to have a smart mouth. When Ephesians 4:25 declares, “Therefore each of you must put off false hood and speak truthfully to his neighbor, for we are all members of one body,” we are reminded that truth is something we are not just something we say. Good character is key to good communication. We also see the affirmation that honesty’s end result is a good, strong community….”

I just love that she isn’t scared to talk about Jesus and has actually done the # search on his usage (I do that when I think a topic is important too.)   Robin provides great questions that will get your brain pumping at the end of each chapter. They are relevant to the chapter and more importantly if you are struggling with “words” they are useful in discovering more about yourself. I think Robin had done a great job with this book. It touches “touchy” subjects like gossip, that some of us have a hard time dealing with (yes, me included –some days! ;p ) Her search of the Bible to help us with this is really great, I can’t stress it enough.

She ends each chapter with a prayer, which is fantastic as well, as we know that if we can have God bless our studies we will find them 10X more beneficial than just reading them on our own.

I love the little quotes Robin has laced throughout the book. I think my favorite is the one from Carlo Carretto:

We are the wire, God is the current.
Our only power is to let the current pass through us.

I think regardless of your communication style or techniques you’ve already acquired there are points of interest for everyone in this book. I’ll leave you with a tease from an interesting and fun section at the end of the book is “50 great questions to ask others”. Though you’ll only get five.. enough to give you something to taste and test out!!

  1. How may I pray for you?
  2. What do you do when you need to recharge your batteries?
  3. What makes you smile?
  4. What is stopping you?
  5. What’s your favorite way of learning something new?

I’m hoping to test a few out this week myself!

This is part of my SRT! Check out others by clicking the link above!

4 responses to “smart mouth?

  1. Oh yes – smart mouth… *sigh* I must get this book to be healed of my smartness. (Or whatever it’s REALLY called).

  2. Sounds fantastic. Thank you!!!

  3. I MUST get this book – you described me perfectly with your description of verbal vomiting. Thanks for the tip, I’ll pick it up tomorrow.

  4. This sounds like a great book I need..I have a hard time saying no and when I do say no, I really get treated like I said the worse things in the word…For me, it’s the problem of not being manipulated or walked on.

Leave a Reply

